# Why is it that people cannot delete their comments after posting them? What benefit is this feature meant to achieve?



##### Post Metadata
- Posted at: over 5 years ago
- Author title: Technical Assistant
- Net upvotes: 2


## Comments
### Comment 1

The default policy is actually already what you are describing. Normally anyone can delete and rerecord their comments whenever they want to, so I&#39;m assuming the scenario you&#39;re describing is happening for one of two reasons. The first is that you might be logged out, so the system doesn&#39;t see you as the owner. If you log into the same account that made the comment you should be able to then delete it. But the second is that the owner/creator of the VoiceThread does have the ability to change the default settings and make it so that commenters can&#39;t delete their own comments. But again, that&#39;s not the default policy, it&#39;s just something that instructors will occasionally turn on if they want to create an assignment or something like that. IF that&#39;s the case, you&#39;d just need to contact the owner of the VoiceThread and ask them to change that setting.  Hopefully that answers your question! :-)

##### Comment Metadata
- Posted at: over 3 years ago
- Author title: Co-Founder, voicethread.com




## Related Product
[VoiceThread](https://www.g2.com/products/voicethread/reviews)

## Related Category
[Visual Collaboration Platforms](https://www.g2.com/categories/visual-collaboration-platforms)

## Related discussions
- [How well does Trello scale into a larger team?](https://www.g2.com/discussions/1-how-well-does-trello-scale-into-a-larger-team)
  - Posted at: about 13 years ago
  - Comments: 6
- [Can we please add a new section](https://www.g2.com/discussions/2-can-we-please-add-a-new-section)
  - Posted at: about 13 years ago
  - Comments: 0
- [Quantifiable benefits from implementing your CRM](https://www.g2.com/discussions/quantifiable-benefits-from-implementing-your-crm)
  - Posted at: about 13 years ago
  - Comments: 4


